How to: Add a WeMo Switch

For software support
Post Reply
User avatar
Lightsaber
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 11:02 am

How to: Add a WeMo Switch

Post by Lightsaber » Tue Jan 16, 2018 11:09 am

I don't understand how to add my WeMo. Any assistance would be appreciated.

User avatar
DaveSignal
Site Admin
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 10:14 am

Re: How do I add a WeMo mini switch to the HomeControl interface?

Post by DaveSignal » Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:33 pm

Lightsaber wrote:how to add my WeMo
Adding a new WeMo switch is not hard. No configuration in Preferences is needed to add a Wemo. All you need is the IP address of the Wemo you want to add.
First, open your Device List by hitting command-D or using the menubar option.
Image
click the + button at the bottom right. This will open the window for adding a new device.
Image
Just make sure that you have "Wemo" selected in the dropdown, pick any name that you want to call your device, and input the local IP address for your Wemo. You can also optionally select a group from the bottom pull-down menu to put the device in.
Click the "Save" button and your Wemo is added!
Image
You can see it at the bottom of the device list.
Image
And you can turn it on/off by double-clicking.
It is also now accesssible from the Menubar:
Image
The order of the devices in the menubar will match whatever order you choose to sort the items in on the Device List window.
If you added the device to a group, you can also control it from the Group interfaces.

Have fun controlling your Wemo!

- Dave

User avatar
Lightsaber
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 11:02 am

Re: How do I add a WeMo mini switch to the HomeControl interface?

Post by Lightsaber » Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:47 pm

Wow. Thank you for the quick response. That was easy!

Post Reply